Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

What is the process for installing DeploymentPro (legacy) from a shared location?

Last Update: 7/21/2017 11:27 AM
This article has been moved to our new Help Center. Please update your bookmarks.

​​ 

Notice: This Knowledge Base article pertains specifically to the DeploymentPro (legacy) product, and not to the DeploymentPro product that is part of MSPComplete or DeploymentPro for UserActivation.​

What is the process for installing DeploymentPro (legacy) from a shared location?​​

Answer:

 

When installing the DeploymentPro Agent from a shared network location, the process is defined by four phases: Admin Download, End User install, Monitoring, and Outlook Configuration.​

Admin Download/Install:

In order to prepare for running DeploymentPro from a shared network location, the admin should complete the following steps:

  1. Download Bootstrap.exe from the UserActivation website. It can also be downloaded from here.

  2. Open up the command prompt, navigate to the location that you downloaded the Bootstrap.exe from, and run bootstrap.exe /preinstall. This will download both the x86 and x64 versions of DeploymentPro, and will open Windows Explorer to show the result.

  3. Copy all content to a shared location that all users can access.

End User Install:

The Install phase begins with the email to the end user. Each user will receive an email. This email contains a unique authentication code.

Also Included in the email template is the option to insert a shared drive location from which you can instruct your users to install the Bootstrap.exe. Simply replace the [Link] in the email template with the location of the Bootstrap.exe on your shared location.

When the Bootrstrap.exe file is run, it will launch a command window that will complete the following:

  • Check to see if the user meets the minimum system requirements to run DeploymentPro.
    • If the user's computer does not meet the minimum system requirements, the installer will stop and display an error.
    • If the user's computer does meet the requirements, the installer will continue to run.
  • The download normally takes 2-5 minutes, but depending on bandwidth speed, it can take longer.

    • The Bootstrap.exe has a timeout function that will stop the download and show an error after one hour.

Note: This window can be closed by clicking the red X, but can be re-opened by clicking on the icon in the system tray. The process will not continue until the user inputs a valid authentication code.

Monitoring:

Once the install is completed, users immediately enter the monitoring phase. During this phase, there will be a process called Guardian running in the background. This Guardian process communicates with our UserActivation servers to receive instructions about what actions it should take, and doesn't do anything to the end user's computer until the DNS cutover has been processed. Once the DNS cutover has been processed, our UserActivation servers signal to the Guardian processes to create and configure the new mail profile for Office 365.

You can monitor who has completed the install successfully from your Project Dashboard.

Configuration:

Once the Guardian receives the signal from the BitTitan servers that the DNS records have been cut over, it launches the OutlookConfigurator.exe file. This will launch the DeploymentPro Wizard, which will guide the user through the configuration process below.

  1. The first page of the wizard provides instructions to the end user to make sure they complete the entire wizard, so that they do not lose access to their email.

  2. The second page of the wizard is the Password page, where users will either create a new password for Office 365 or use an existing password.

  3. The third page of the wizard displays the status of the configuration.

    • If the configuration succeeds, they will move to the final confirmation page.
    • If the automatic configuration fails, the DeploymentPro agent will provide the settings that the user will need in order to configure Outlook manually, as well as links to our Knowledge Base articles with detailed step-by-step instructions to manually create a new Outlook profile.

  4. The last page of the wizard is the confirmation page. This page shows that we have successfully configured a new profile, and instructs the user to restart Outlook.

Once DeploymentPro is complete, the Guardian process will stop running when we confirm that the configuration has completed successfully.